Music: Composers

A list of composers, with brief biographies, comprising part of a growing site devoted to African heritage in classical music.

Music by women composers

Valuable reference for this topic between 1770-1870.

Catalog and resource guide of music by women.

Part of the Yale University Oral History project, this database is comprised of more than 1400 interviews with important American composers and performers between 1970 and the present.

A library of Johann Sebastian Bach's autograph manuscripts and original parts. Also includes a catalog of information regarding the composer's works. In German, but you can select the English option.

A comprehensive site devoted to the life and works of American composer Samuel Barber.

Provides access to a rich bibliography of books, articles, scores, and other materials on Beethoven.

Includes interesting facts and descriptions of collections of correspondence and musical editions.

The Center is the only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). The Center now has the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe.

A comprehensive resource providing valuable material concerning the composer and his works, as well as current events.

A wonderful resource, available only in German

Britten-Pears library details and catalog, Britten thematic catalog and database of his published works Includes interesting facts and links to other resources.

A comprehensive guide to the music, writings and activities of John Cage.

Digitized images of 400 first and early printed editions of Chopin’s music held in the Chopin Collection of the University of Chicago.

Maintained by the Institute for Composer Diversity at Fredonia State University, New York. Includes demographics for each composer as well as medium of performance.

90 years of music and documents and photographs.

Excellent biography and critical material about this American composer.

Access to recent Handel publications, research guides, bibliographies and links to pertinent online resources.

A comprehensive site including extensive biographical material, works list, discography, interviews, and recordings of recent performances.

Original scores, sketches and electronic notation, as well as composer websites are included on this site, in addition to a wide variety of other resources.

Biographical material, sketches, some manuscripts and source materials.

A rare collection of more than 30 original manuscripts and valuable source materials.

Contains complete musical texts and commentaries.

An every increasing representation of the voluminous correspondence of the Mozart family is available in the original German, as well as in English, Italian and French. Access to several types of background material is also available.

Essays, images and commentary by a group of scholars at Cornell.

A collection of early print and MS scores, provided by the University of Iowa

Holdings can be found in the catalog, recordings available in Jukebox and Webradio broadcasts, which include excerpts of addresses by the composer himself, many in English.

A complete listing of all of Schubert’s works with catalog and opus numbers, dates of composition and other pertinent information, including series and volume numbers of locations in the new Collected Edition.

Excellent resource for manuscripts and critical materials from an exhibit at Yale during the summer of 2010.

A collection of musical autographs, as well as correspondence between Clara and Robert Schumann.

From the Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia , includes images, music, and discussion

Exclusive site for all things Stockhausen, as well as a commercial source for his videos and CDs.

Gateway to The David Tudor collection at the Getty Museum

An excellent resource for information about the composer and his music.

A developing site which currently provides valuable external links for Verdi research