Music: Instrumental Music

An international organization which provides a valuable list of online resources and the contents of its fascinating newsletter at this site..

The British Harpsichord Society promotes awareness, enjoyment, study, playing and ownership of harpsichords and related plucked keyboard instruments in Britain

This online presentation includes images of over 1,500 instruments,photographs and other illustrations, and a 17th-century flageolet tutor. In addition, there are accompanying essays and writings about Dayton Miller, his collection, and flutes and flute makers.

International multi-disciplinary site devoted to single-and double-action pedal harps (c.1700-1840) and their predecessors.

Encyclopedia of fiddle tunes from Celtic, British and American traditions, with an extensive bibliography.

Extremely reputable and reliable for all things flute, including a wonderful collection of REAL music and some fantastic instruments!

A thorough guide to the study of modern guitars and mandolins from Belmont University in Nashville, TN.

Best commercial source for guitar music and supplies!

Newsletter with information about competitions and conferences, as well as a searchable database of rare editions in the public domain.

Versatile online source for all aspects of the harmonica and its repertoire.

A portal offering links to a newsletter, various fora, ads, competitions, performers and luthiers.

The United Kingdom’s largest collection of historical musical instruments from around the world, including images with some audio tracks provided.

The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections.

Located at the University of South Dakota, this collection of over 15,000 rare and historic instruments includes examples from both Western and non-Western traditions.

A network for "alternative cello," encompassing a wide variety of non-traditional styles.

Excellent resource by instrument of music currently available for purchase.

A wonderful resource created to preserve a wide variety of traditions. Videos and sound recordings are available.

Articles, catalogs, databases and more – devoted to the recorder.