Music: Vocal Music

A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs.

From the Library of Congress, an array of choral works available for download, written between the Civil War and 1922.

Principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers, with an emphasis placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.

Includes over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The original printed materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century.

Links to sheet music collections all over the world, with brief descriptions.

Digitized versions of an impressive collection of works published in the United States between 1850 and 1920, from the Duke University library.

A search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.

An ongoing compilation of information about choral music by Latin American composers from 1550 to the present.

Independently run database of over 60,000 lieder, cancione and other solo song texts.

Archival information is of especial interest for performers and repertoire.

Begins with 1865, and includes rag, blues, movie tunes, dance music, war songs and some recordings. Electronic access to many files is restricted by copyright.

International database of choral music including scores and texts. For comprehensive access to this extensive choral library, registration is required.

Cross-index of more than 38,000 works, allowing searches within single or multiple categories including genre, composer, librettist and premiere date.

Part of the old Variations project. Some portions of selected opera scores held at IU. Not a treasure trove, but for researchers interested in any of the available scenes, the format is excellent.

A commercial site, but great listing of operas currently being performed internationally. Listings by artist, composer and work. Also a very comprehensive list of recordings of all types of works – a nice information source, with an Italian bent.

An open access collection of 348 songs with modern and traditional harmonization. You can download files as individual PDFs, XML and Sibelius files.

Documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.

Includes both state-related works and a collection of music by women composers.

Rally songs and works by both well-established composers ad ordinary citizens. Contains music both in favor of and against the suffragist movement between 1838 and 1923