Theater: Design and Technology

A collection of theatrical designs, memorabilia, books, photographs and specialized archives covers all aspects of the performing arts in the UK, both historically and within the conemporary period. Searchable resources include a digital library of over 300,000 images and materials on such special topics as 18th and 19th century theater and the Elizabethan stage.

A treasure trove of essays, reading lists, and digital images, spanning centuries.

A valuable collection of photographs.

Another resource for images of costumes and historical fashion.

Excellent site for networking and information exchange.

More than 400 biographical entries, alphabetically arranged by designer, as well as entries by country for the Ancient World and Early Cultures, then for European Culture from the 16th through 19th centuries, and The Modern World from 1980-2003. Good resource for quick information, and for definitions of seldom used terms.

Costumer resources online - lots of material here.

This site is mutating into a Wiki, but in the meantime, it offers a broad spectrum of materials, the quality of which varies wildly. Do read the Manifesto itself - for everyone involved in theater production.

An historical dynamic collection of western clothing with respect to social and cultural contexts. Valuable digital archive.

Over 600 photographs of entertainers and actors who performed on the American stage from the mid to late 19th century.

A commercial site with fabulous images from more than 400 contemporary international designers. The site also includes news items relating to current trends in the fashion and beauty industries.

An active online encyclopedia, which collects and disseminates information on contemporary Canadian plays, playwrights and theatrical topics of interest.

A compilation of more than 30 digitised collections of European public and private institutions. Searchable by several factors, including time period.

A forum for discussions of all aspects of stage work including scenography, lighting, costume design and production

A wonderful British site containing a glossary of technical terms, material on puppetry, lighting, scenography and much more.

Excellent site for networking and information exchange.

A video overview of an 18th century theater still in use, with its original stage machinery.

Profiles of more than 300 members of the SPTD, with photographs of their work.