Hours
Ask Us
My AccountArchitecture: Find Books
Browse by Subject
The Lilly Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System to organize books in the library. The LC system categorizes by subject, which will allow you to browse by subject.
Subject Classes for Architecture include:
NA Architecture
NA 1-60 General
NA 100-130 Architecture and the state
NA 190-1555.5 History
NA 1995 Architecture as a profession
NA 2000-2320 Study and teaching.
Research
NA 2335-2360 Competitions
NA 2400-2460 Museums. Exhibitions
NA 2500-2599 General works
NA 2599.5-2599.9 Architectural criticism
NA 2695-2793 Architectural drawing
and design
NA 2835-4050 Details and decoration
NA 4100-8480 Special classes of buildings
NA 4100-4145 Classed by material
NA 4150-4160 Classed by form
NA 4170-8480 Classed by use
NA 4170-(7020) Public buildings
NA 4590-5621 Religious architecture
NA 7100-7884 Domestic architecture.
Houses. Dwellings
NA 7910-8125 Clubhouses, guild houses,
etc.
NA 8200-8260 Farm architecture
NA 8300-8480 Outbuildings, gates,
fences, etc.
NA 9000-9428 Aesthetics of cities.
City planning
and beautifying
Library Catalog
Finding Physical Materials
Search for materials in th library catalog. For your chosen item, note the availability, location and call number.
The Lilly Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System, which organizes materials by subject. Calls numbers are read top to bottom, and represent the broad subject, specific subject, identifying information like authors or geographic location, volume number (if applicable), and publication date.
Once you have identified the collection and call number, check the the library map to find which floor the book is located. The General Collections NA section, for example, is located on the second floor on the NW side of the building.
Find eBooks
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks that cover many disciplines and are usually more recent.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE provides the full text of several hundred journals and thousands of eBooks from a variety of academic publishers. There are over 800 architecture e-books.
Find Reference Works
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture by
Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excludingliving persons), from Sir Francis Bacon and Imhotep to Liang Ssu-ch'eng and Francis Inigo Thomas. The text is complemented by over 260 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy forreaders to identify particular period styles.This third edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture has been extensively revised and expanded, with over 900 new entries including hundreds of definitions of garden and landscape terms such as Baroque garden, floral clock, hortus conclusus, and Zen garden-design. Each entry is followed by amini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading. The full bibliography to the first edition (previously only available online) has also been fully updated and expanded, and incorporated into this new edition.This is an essential work of reference for anyone with an interest in architectural and garden history. With clear descriptions providing in-depth analysis, it is invaluable for students, professional architects, art historians, and anyone interested in architecture and garden design, and provides afascinating wealth of information for the general reader.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Art-focused full-text source for finding background information about art and artists.
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100