Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Spanish Cinema: Home

Getting Started

Streaming Video

Key Spanish Resources

Key Film & Digital Media Resources

Search Tips

Near Searching: Specifies how close words appear together in a text.

Example: If you would like words to occur within the same sentence or paragraph, use N12 (in EBSCO) or ~12 (in JSTOR) to request that the search terms appear within 12 words of each other.

Near Searching Example (EBSCO)

Standard Search: franquista AND cine finds 606 articles

Near Search: franquista N5 cine finds 57 articles

Near Searching Example (JSTOR)

Standard Search: Spanish Civil War AND Film finds 20,686 articles

Near Search: “Spanish Civil War” ~5 finds 16 articles

Subject Headings: Subject headings are standardized controlled vocabulary that groups articles together by theme or topic. Subject headings attempt to combat challenges posed by synonyms.

Note: Subject heading terms are not universal and vary from database to database. Use a database thesaurus to locate subject headings, or view subject headings assigned to articles on a database’s search results page (if available).

 

Truncation/Wildcard Searching: If a search term has multiple endings, search the root word and add an asterisks (*) at the end.

Example: Franco* searches Francoist, Francoism, and Franco, Francisco

Limiters/Filters: Most databases allow you to narrow your search results according to certain criteria. Common limiters (also called filters) include: Full-text, Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, Publication Date, Publication Type, and Language.

 

Featured Books (Español)

Lugares de memoria de la Guerra Civil y el franquismo : representaciones literarias y visuales

Lilly Library General Collection: PQ6140.C57 L843 2006

Enciclopedia del cine español : cronología por Pascual Cebollada y Luis Rubio Gil

Lilly Library General Collection: PN1993.5.S7 C38 1996

Cultura herida : literatura y cine en la España democrática por Cristina Moreiras Menor

Lilly Library General Collection: PQ6073.P6 M67 2002

Featured Books (English)

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100