Hours
Ask Us
My AccountGuide to Spanish Cinema: Home
Getting Started
- Academic Search This link opens in a new windowBroad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Also includes videos from the Associated Press. A great starting point for any topic!
- JSTOR Journal Archives and eBooks This link opens in a new windowFull-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEbooks that cover many disciplines and are usually more recent.
- Library Catalog @ Wabash This link opens in a new windowDiscover books, media, and articles at Wabash and beyond.
Streaming Video
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new windowKanopy offers a large collection of documentary and educational films, as well as particular categories of feature films, including world cinema, Criterion Collection, Cannes Film Festival entries, early and silent films. Each title must be licensed individually. (Contact Susan Albrecht for assistance.) Note: public libraries such as the Crawfordsville District Public Library likely have more extensive options.
Related Guides
Key Spanish Resources
- Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain in a variety of subjects.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowGlobal newspapers, including non-English language news sources in Spanish, and other languages.
- HAPI [Hispanic American Periodicals Index] This link opens in a new windowIndex to Hispanic studies, language, and culture journals (675) since 1970.
CLICK HERE for username and password.
Key Film & Digital Media Resources
- Film & Television Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThe best choice for film and television research.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowStart here for scholarly journals and professional publications in communication, mass media, and film studies.
Search Tips
Near Searching: Specifies how close words appear together in a text.
Example: If you would like words to occur within the same sentence or paragraph, use N12 (in EBSCO) or ~12 (in JSTOR) to request that the search terms appear within 12 words of each other.
Near Searching Example (EBSCO)
Standard Search: franquista AND cine finds 606 articles
Near Search: franquista N5 cine finds 57 articles
Near Searching Example (JSTOR)
Standard Search: Spanish Civil War AND Film finds 20,686 articles
Near Search: “Spanish Civil War” ~5 finds 16 articles
Subject Headings: Subject headings are standardized controlled vocabulary that groups articles together by theme or topic. Subject headings attempt to combat challenges posed by synonyms.
Note: Subject heading terms are not universal and vary from database to database. Use a database thesaurus to locate subject headings, or view subject headings assigned to articles on a database’s search results page (if available).
Limiters/Filters: Most databases allow you to narrow your search results according to certain criteria. Common limiters (also called filters) include: Full-text, Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, Publication Date, Publication Type, and Language.
Featured Books (Español)
Lugares de memoria de la Guerra Civil y el franquismo : representaciones literarias y visuales
Lilly Library General Collection: PQ6140.C57 L843 2006
Enciclopedia del cine español : cronología por Pascual Cebollada y Luis Rubio Gil
Lilly Library General Collection: PN1993.5.S7 C38 1996
Cultura herida : literatura y cine en la España democrática por Cristina Moreiras Menor
Lilly Library General Collection: PQ6073.P6 M67 2002
Featured Books (English)
Contemporary Spanish cinema by Barry Jordan and Rikki Morgan-Tamosunas
Lilly Library General Collection: PN1993.5.S7 J6 1998
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100