Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater: Design and Technology

Costumes

Victoria and Albert Museum - Theatre and Performance  - A collection of theatrical designs, memorabilia, books, photographs and specialized archives covers all aspects of the performing arts in the UK, both historically and within the conemporary period. Searchable resources include a digital library of over 300,000 images and materials on such special topics as 18th and 19th century theater and the Elizabethan stage.

 Victoria and Albert Museum - Fashion - A treasure trove of essays, reading lists, and digital images, spanning centuries.

 Costumers Guide to Movie Costumes - A valuable collection of photographs,

 Metropolitan Museum of Art - Another resource for images of costumes and historical fashion.

 USITT - United States Institute for Theatre Technology - Excellent site for networking and information exchange.

Fashion Encyclopedia - More than 400 biographical entries, alphabetically arranged by dsigner, as well as entries by country for the Ancient World and Early Cultures, then for European Culture from the 16th through 19th centuries, and The Modern World from 1980-2003.  Good resource for quuick information, and for definitions of seldom used terms.

 The Costume Page - Costumer resources online - lots of material here.

 The Costumer's Manifesto - This site is mutating into a Wiki, but in the meantime, it offers a broad spectrum of materials, the quality of which varies wildly.  Do read the Manifesto itself - for everyone involved in theater production.

Kyoto Costume Institute - An historical dynamic collection of western clothing with respect to social and cultural contexts.  Valuable digital archive.

19th Century Actors and Theater Photographs - Over 600 photographs of enteertainers and actors who performed onthe american stage from the mid to late 19th century.

FARFETCH - A commercial site with fabulous images from more than 400 contemporary international designers.  The site also includes news items relating to current trends in the fashion and beauty industries.

Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia - An active online encyclopedia, which collects and disseminates information on contemporary Canadian plays, playwrights and theatrical topics of interest.

Europeana Fashion - A compilation of more than 30 digitised collections of European public and private institutions.  Searchable by several factors, including time period.


 

Technical Stagecraft

USITT - United States Institute for Theatre Technology - Excellent site for networking and information exchange.

Stagecraft Mailing List - A forum for discussions of all aspects of stage work including scenography, lighting, costume design and production

Theatre Design - A wonderful British site containing a glossary of technical terms, material on puppetry, lighting, scenography and much more.

Drottningholm Theater video clips: 1 2 3 4 - (University of Michigan)Films of eighteenth century opera stage machinery in action.  Great views of behind-the-scenes special effects in this Swedish theater.

Development of Scenic Spectale - A wonderful resource for renaissance and baroque technical history.  Fantastic bibliography, explanations of basic machinery, computer modeling, and videos of machines by type and designer.

The Society of British Theatre Designers - Profiles of more than 300 members of the SPTD, with photographs of their work.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100