Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater: Dramaturgy, Dance and More

Dance

 An American Ballroom Companion - A collection of more than 200 social dance manuals dating from the late 15th century through 1929.  Site also includes histories, etiquette treatises and antidance manuals.

American Ballet Theater - Ballet Dictionary - Demonstrations of ballet steps in QuickTime, as well as textual definitions.

America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures - Created by the Dance Heritage Coalition, this site provides documentation, including videos and research resources, for a variety of dancers and dance companies.

Ballet Companies.com - A useful directory for searches by country. Includes more than just ballet resources.

Ballets Russes Collection- Photos and brief historical background of scenery from the Ballet Russes de Monte Carlo collection at Butler University.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division Digital Gallery - Digital images of more than 4,000 items housed at the New York Public Library devoted to the documentation of dance.

Numeridanse.TV Free multimedia dance platform..

Performing Arts in American 1875-1923 - From the New York Public Library collection of original documents, a treasure trove of visual and aural images are available on this site.

@URL Arts Resources: Dance - New Zealand site with international links.

Dramaturgy

Dramaturgy Northwest - A succinct and valuable site which includes resources for further study.  University of Puget Sound.

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas - A valuable professional site with helpful practical resources. 

Musical Theater

Broadway Musical Home - Production information, synopsis, musical numbers, sheet music, and video clips. The official website for more than 300 musicals, with information on choreographers, directors, composers and original cast members.

Show Music on Record - From the Library of Congress, discographic information for all commercially released show music from the 19th through the 21st centuries.

The Guide to Musical Theatre - Not a scholarly resource, but an extensive and interesting one. 

Playwrights

Native American Women Playwrights Archive - A collection of original materials by Native women playwrights of the Americas.

Playwrights' Platform - A link to resources including web indices and playwright listings.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100