Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Other Sites of Interest

Miscellaneous Resources

Concerts from the Library of Congress 
Recordings of live concerts from the Library of Congress, including a wide variety of music.

Dance Notation Bureau
The source of notated scores by Balanchine, Paul Taylor, Jose Limon, and other well-renowned choreographers.

Dial M for Musicology
A weblog with current newspaper articles, thought pieces and a bit of gossip

Discography of American Historical Recordings
Maintained by the University of California, Santa Barbara, this is a collection of historical recordings released by RCA Victor, Columbia, Decca and
and other American labels in the early 20th century. Complete discographic information and audio examples are provided.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.

Dolmetsch Musical Dictionary Online
Music Dictionary Online's primary purpose is, in the case of non-English words and phrases, to offer translations and, more generally, and where appropriate, to offer explanations and comments about general (non-musical) words as well as specialist (i.e. musical, etc.) terms that might be found in musical scores, libretti, books on music, web sites, CD notes, concert programmes, etc.

Dolmetsch Online
Chart of musical symbols

Dublin Music Trade
A comprehensive resource of information about music publishers, printers, sellers and instrument makes in Dublin between 1515 and 1850.

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
First edition of Grove’s Dictionary via the Internet Archive. Includes images of works cited in relevant bibliographies.

Inclusive Early Music 

A searchable annotated bibliography of musicians, audiences and musical practices before 1650, often excluded by mainstream music history resources.

Louisiana Channel

Videos about art, music and literature based at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebaek, Denmark, featuring contemporary artists.

The National Jukebox
Here the Library of Congress provides free access to historical sound recordings made during the early 20th century.  Included are popular, military, ethnic and classical works.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Thousands of free visual images (including sheet music covers, paintings, photographs) from the New York Public Library collection in art, music and literature

Numeridanse.TV
Free multimedia dance platform.

Open Music Encyclopedia
No authority control, but interesting  music recognition capabilities

Princeton-Blue Mountain Project
A collection of 31 avant-garde journals from 1848-01923 covering music, poetry, art and drama.  Full text search, full runs, international provenance, multi-lingual.

Radical Musicology
Online journal embraces a wide variety of often quite interesting musical topics

Sing About Science
A purely specialized site with works for audiences of all ages and degrees of sophistication

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100