Skip to main content

Experimental & Electronic Music

  • Contemporary Composers Web Archive
    Housed at Columbia, in association with several academic institutions including Yale and Johns Hopkins, this site provides access to the websites of more than 1500 contemporary composers, including musical recordings and videos.

  • Digital Music Research Network (UK)
    Good directories, links to databases and collections as well as to software.
  • Electronic Music Foundation
    Links to international activities and groups devoted to sound art, music technology and environmental sound.
  • Experimental Music  Catalog
    Music written mostly during the 1960’s and 1970’s in the UK and USA – and access to the Journal of Experimental Music Studies.
  • Extremes of Conventional Musical Notation
    Not completely tongue-in-cheek.
  • Free Music Archive
    A wonderful resource for free downloads of mostly experimental electronic and acoustic music, but other genres are also available.
  • International Conferences on Music Information Retrieval
    Provides a comprehensive list of conferences and publications as well as a comprehensive list of MIR resources.
  • Ircam Multimedia Library
    Great for contemporary music.  Extensive catalog of books, scores, periodicals, many internet resources, current news, and a good source of information for a variety of composers.  Excellent deep links.
  • Music and Science Information Computer Archive
    Provides access to all issues of MuSICA Research Notes, a newsletter of analysis and commentary on research in music and behavior.
  • Music Contemporaine
    Provides excellent biographical material, linking directly with such reputable sources as Grove, fine video clips, recordings and more.  In French, but many documents in English, so click on the British flag for available translations.
  • Music Information Retrieval lexicon
    Links to resources for machine learning, sound libraries, music processing, and other aspects of MIR.
  • New Music Box (from the American Music Center)
    Wonderful site which provides excerpts of books, streaming interviews, performances.  Daily updates, very current!
  • UbuWeb
    “Outsider” music, art and performance resource with biographical materials and media files

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100