Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: World Music

Resources for World Music

Important Print Resources in the Reference Collection:

  Nettl, Bruno, Ruth M. Stone, James Porter, and Timothy Rice. The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. New York: Garland Pub, 1998 REF ML 100 G16 1998 (Volumes 1 - 10)

 Musical Instruments of the World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. New York: Sterling Pub. Co, 1997   REF ML 102 .I5M88 1987

Links to Resources on the Web:

AfroPop
African music and music of the African diaspora - Streaming of current artists’s work,  and interviews with musicians. Historical maps tracing the legacy of Al-Andalus, podcasts, photos and much more.

Alan Lomax Database
The Association for Cultural Equity now houses a good portion of the Alan Lomax Archives -- recordings made between 1946 and 1994 - throught the world.  Sound background reading in the history of ethnomusicology.

Archives of Traditional Music
An audiovisual archive, maintained by Indiana University, that documents music and culture from all over the world. With over 100,000 recordings that include more than 2,700 field collections, it is one of the largest university-based ethnographic sound archives in the United States.

Bibliothèque Nationale de France
Free visual images, sound recordings, books and periodicals dealing with Francophone culture are provided by  the Bibliothèque nationale de France, with extremely thorough search and retrieval mechanisms.

Chinese Music Internet Archives
The Internet Chinese Music Archives is an interesting compendium of recordings varying from traditional vocal music to contemporary "art" music.  This appears to be a privately maintained site, and the provenance of the recordings is not apparent, but the sounds and variety are worth a listen.

The Global Jukebox
Presents traditions that are linked to the roots of the world's peoples.  One may explore historic collections of music, dance, and speech from almost every corner of the globe, recorded by hundreds of pioneering ethnographers.  N.B:  please log in as "guest," or register for free.

Global Music Archive
A multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional music from Africa and the Americas, hosted by Vanderbilt University.  It currently features a database of discrete performances from Uganda, sorted by region, language and instrument type.

India - Recordings
A huge database of musical recordings from India, available for free listening, including everything from traditional musics to Bollywood.

James Koetting Ghana Field Recordings
The collection was compiled in the 1970’s, and is housed at Brown University.   Interviews, musical demonstrations, field notebooks, photographs and commentary are also included.  Excellent sound reproduction!

Jewish Music Websites
Includes music, lyrics, videos and essays on Jewish musical culture.

Journal of Music in Ireland
Deals mostly with popular and traditional music, listing upcoming events and job ads, in addition to interesting essays.

Latin American Network Information Center
Provides a wealth of links listed under “Humanities” which pertain to music.  Resources are grouped by categories of region, country and international topics.

Liberian Collections Project
Audio and videotaped recordings of Liberian music and dance, with links to historical and ethnographic documents and photographs.

Library of Congress country studies
Good historical demographic background information for ethno research

Maqam World
Educational site explaining the maqam(modal) system used in classical Arabic music, wonderful musical examples and images of instruments – a very thorough approach.

Minim UK
The United Kingdom’s largest collection of historical musical instruments from around the world, with some audio tracks provided.

Music Instrument Museums Online
The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections.

Music of Puerto Rico
Excellent overview of Puerto Rican music from the official territorial site.

Philippine Indigenous Instrument Sounds Database
A wonderful resource created to preserve a wide variety of traditions.  Videos and sound recordings are included.

Scottish Traditional Music
Scottish Song Index from the National Library of Scotland.

Sephardic Music:  A Century of Recordings
Includes a narrative history, commentaries on individual artists and recordings, as well as many audio clips.

UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive
Collection includes field recordings principally of Southeast Asia, South Asia, Africa and the music of Native North Americans.  Recordings stream from the Internet Archives (free registration required).

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100