Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Instrumental Music

Instruments and Instrumental Music

Important Print Sources in the Reference Collection:
  • Havighurst, Jay. Making Musical Instruments by Hand. Gloucester, Mass: Quarry Books, 1998.  REF ML 460H39 1998
  • Montagu, Jeremy. Origins and Development of Musical Instruments. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2007 REF ML 460 .M76 2007
    Web Links:
  • American Musical Instrument Society
    An international organization which provides a valuable list of online resources and the contents of its fascinating newsletter at this site..
  • Arthur Rubinstein Music Collection
    Original MSS and first editions seized by the Nazis from the Paris home of Artur Rubinstein, returned to the family in 2006, and digitized and housed by the Juilliard School of Music.
  • British Harpsichord Society
    The British Harpsichord Society promotes awareness, enjoyment, study, playing and ownership of harpsichords and related plucked keyboard instruments in Britain
  • Dayton C. Miller Flute collection, Music Division, Library of Congress
    This online presentation includes images of over 1,500 instruments,photographs and other illustrations, and a 17th-century flageolet tutor. In addition, there are accompanying essays and writings about Dayton Miller, his collection, and flutes and flute makers.
  • The Early Pedal Harp
    International multi-disciplinary site devoted to single-and double-action pedal harps (c.1700-1840) and their predecessors.

  • Fiddler’s Companion
    Encyclopedia of fiddle tunes from Celtic, British and American traditions, with an extensive bibliography
  • Flute World
    Extremely reputable and reliable for all things flute, including a wonderful collection of REAL music and some fantastic instruments!
  • Gallery of Iconic Guitars
    A thorough guide to the study of modern guitars and mandolins from Belmont University in Nashville, TN.
  • GSP:  Guitar Solo San Francisco
    Best commercial source for guitar music and supplies!
  • Guitar Foundation
    Newsletter with information about competitions and conferences, as well as a searchable database of rare editions in the public domain.
  • Harmonica Links
    Versatile online source for all aspects of the harmonica and its repertoire.
  • Internet Cello Society
    A portal offering links to a newsletter, various fora, ads, competitions, performers and luthiers.
  • Minim UK
  • The United Kingdom’s largest collection of historical musical instruments from around the world, including images with some audio tracks provided.

  • Music Instrument Museums Online
    The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections.
  • National Music Museum
    emuseum currently contains only instruments made before 1800.

  • New Directions Cello Association
    A network for "alternative cello," encompassing a wide variety of non-traditional styles.
  • Peters Edition Website
    Excellent resource by instrument of music currently available for purchase.
  • Philippine Indigenous Instrument Sounds Database
    A wonderful resource created to preserve a wide variety of traditions.  Videos and sound recordings are available.
  • Recorder Homepage
    Articles, catalogs, databases and more – devoted to the recorder.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100