Skip to main content

Important Print Resources in the Reference Collection

Schmieder, Wolfgang. Thematisch-systematisches Verzeichnis Der Musikalischen Werke Von Johann Sebastian Bach: Bach-werke-verzeichnis (bwv). Wiesbaden: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1980.   
REF ML 131 .B1S3 1980

Kinsky, Georg, and Hans Halm. Das Werk Beethovens: Thematisch-bibliographisches Verzeichnis Seiner Sämtlichen Vollendeten Kompositionen. München: G. Henle Verlag, 1955.
REF ML 134 .B4K5 1955

Köchel, Ludwig, Franz Giegling, Alexander Weinmann, and Gerd Sievers. Chronologisch-thematisches Verzeichnis Sämtlicher Tonwerke Wolfgang Amadé Mozarts: Nebst Angabe Der Verlorengegangenen, Angefangenen. Wiesbaden: Breitkopf & Härtel; sole agents in U.S.A.: C. F. Peters Corp., New York, 1964.
REF ML 134 .M9K55 1964

Additional Composer Resources

Composers of African Descent
A list of composers, with brief biographies, comprising part of a growing site devoted to African heritage in classical music

Hildegard Publishing Company
Music by women composers

Irish Classical Music Pioneers
Valuable reference for this topic between 1770-1870.

Ladyslipper
Catalog and resource guide of music by women

Major Figures in American Music
Part of the Yale University Oral History project, this database is comprised of more than 1400 interviews with important American composers and performers between 1970 and the present.


 

Composers and Their Works

Bach Digital
A library of Johann Sebastian Bach's autograph manuscripts and original parts.  Also includes a catalog of information regarding the composer's works.  In German, but you can select the English option.

Samuel Barber
A comprehensive site devoted to the life and works of American composer Samuel Barber.

Beethoven, Ludwig - Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies
The Center is the only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). The Center now has the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe

Beethoven, Ludwig - Beethoven Gateway
Provides access to a rich bibliography of books, articles, scores, and other materials on Beethoven.

Beethoven, Ludwig - House in Bonn
Includes interesting facts and links

Bernstein, Leonard
A comprehensive resource providing valuable material concerning the composer and his works, as well as current events.

Brahms, Johannes
A wonderful resource, available only in German

Britten, Benjamin
Britten-Pears library details and catalog, Britten thematic catalog and database of his published works Includes interesting facts and links to other resources.

John Cage
A comprehensive guide to the music, writings and activities of John Cage.

Chopin Early Editions
Digitized images of 400 first and early printed editions of Chopin’s music held in the Chopin Collection of the University of Chicago.

Composer Diversity Database
Maintained by the Institute for Composer Diversity at Fredonia State University, New York.  Includes demographics for each composer as well as medium of performance.

Copland, Aaron -  Collection at the Library of Congress
90 years of music and documents and photographs.

Fine, Irving
Excellent biography and critical material about this American composer.

Handel, George Frideric
Access to recent Handel publications, research guides, bibliographies and links to pertinent online resources.
Hovhaness, Alan
A comprehensive site including extensive biographical material, works list, discography, interviews, and recordings of recent performances

Library of Congress Commissioned Composers Archive
Original scores, sketches and electronic notation, as well as composer websites are included on this site, in addition to a wide variety of other resources.

Liszt, Franz
Biographical material, sketches, some manuscripts and source materials.

Lully, Jean Baptiste
A rare collection of more than 30 original manuscripts and valuable source materials.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus - - Neue Mozart Ausgabe
Contains complete musical texts and commentaries.

Mozart and the Keyboard Culture of His Time
Essays, images and commentary by a group of scholars at Cornell.

In Mozart's Words
An every increasing representation of the voluminous correspondence of the Mozart family is available in the original German, as well as in English, Italian and French.  Access to several types of background material is also available.

Pleyel, Ignaz
A collection of early print and MS scores, provided by the University of Iowa

Schoenberg - The Arnold Schönberg Center
Holdings can be found in the catalog, recordings available in Jukebox and Webradio broadcasts, which include excerpts of addresses by the composer himself, many in English.

Schubert, Franz - The Collected Works
A complete listing of all of Schubert’s works with catalog and opus numbers, dates of composition and other pertinent information, including series and volume numbers of locations in the new Collected Edition.

Schumann, Robert
Excellent resource for manuscripts and critical materials from an exhibit at Yale during the summer of 2010.

Schumann, Robert - Autographs
A collection of musical autographs, and correspondence between Robert and Clara Schumann.

Sousa, John Philip
From the Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia , includes  images, music, and discussion

Stockhausen, Karlheinz
Exclusive site for all things Stockhausen, as well as a commercial source for his videos and CDs.

Tudor, David - Art of David Tudor
Gateway to The David Tudor collection at the Getty Museum

Varèse Archive
An excellent resource for information about the composer and his music.

American Institute for Verdi Studies
A developing site which currently  provides valuable external links for Verdi research

 

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100