Art: Modern/Contemporary

Videos cover a broad spectrum of subjects and issues.

Art world news, commentary and event reviews.. Sign up for a daily newsletter which also gives you access to historical entries.

An extensive collection of German Expressionism from the MoMa collection including more than 2, 800 prints.

Interact with others interested in contemporary art through this link provided by the Guggenheim, which includes videos, apps, livestreaming and Instagram.

From a broad collection of contemporary art, images are available both from the entire collection as well as from current exhibitions. There are also soundtracks from recent live music events.

Videos about recent art, music and literature hosted by the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk, Denmark.

A brilliant array of essays, projects and comprehensive articles.

Extensive video clips sorted by collection area, images of collection items with descriptive details.

Online component of a PBS series devoted to artists of the 21st century. Observe artists at work, watch their processes and hear their ideas about their art. Includes NEWYORKCLOSEUP, a new documentary series on the life and art in the city.

A cooperative website of all four locations of the Tate Modern collections in the U.K. In addition to information about exhibitions and a variety of activities, the Artist A-Z section is especially helpful for biographical information, images of works, videos and interviews with the artists.

“Outsider” music, art and performance resource with biographical materials and media files

An online publication of contemporary exhibits, events and essays pertaining to the visual arts. International in scope.

A repository for digital content from Illinois institutions, with a strong emphasis on photography.

From the Smithsonian, a photographic archive recording African life from 1947-1973.

An excellent collection of photographs (including comprehensive studies of selected artists), prints and drawings.

16th-20th century maps of Africa, 19th-20th century collection of East African photos, posters from the collection of African studies, photos from the North American Indian collection, and posters from World War II.

A collection of historical photographs from various artists, with an emphasis on Ethiopia, hosted by the University of Florida.

From the Royal Institute of British Architects, a most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture.

Biographical materials, photos and catalogue raisonee.

A public photo archive, comprising an extremely diverse collection from New South Wales.