Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Art of the Americas

General Resources

Archives of American Art 
Primary source materials and digital images trace the history of the visual arts from 1620 to the present.

Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas 
A collection from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Images of thousands of works from the collection are searchable.

Bibliography of the History of Art 
Free access through the Getty to this citation webigte, providing abstracts of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs and articles on Western fine arts, and the history of art and architecutre.  (Access also includes RILA)

Caribbean Art and Visual Culture
An open access, searchable web site featuring video and audio interviews, photographs, biographies, and professional resumes by and about Caribbean artists, RSS feeds of prominent Caribbean art critics, and other information on and by Caribbean artists.

National Museum of American Indian Collections 
From the Smithsonian Institution, access to a broad collection of art and objects from many different regions and groups.

Smithsonian American Art Museum 
Provides interactive access to specialized collections of art works and photographs.

 

Latin American Art

Handbook of Latin American Studies Web, 1990- 
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, edited by the Library of Congress, this multidisciplinary resource alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

HAPI 
(Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - Important resource for arts news throughout Latin America. Please contact a librarian for assistance.

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center) 
An extremely valuable list of links to art resources by region and country.  This is now an archival resource but is quite valuable for research purposes.

 

North America

Alaska's Digital Archives   
A broad collection of historical photographs, albums, moving images and other records documenting the lives of Native peoples.

Caribbean Art and Visual Culture
An open access, searchable web site featuring video and audio interviews, photographs, biographies, and professional resumes by and about Caribbean artists.  Based at the University of Miami.

Chicago History Museum
Many impressive visual resources available here.

Cornell University Collection of Political Americana
Images of Presidential promotional and commerative items from 1789 - 1980, in a variety of media.

Eiteljorg Museum 
Major collection of Western art and Native American art and cultural objects.  Special topics files can be downloaded, and valuable links to research sites are available here.

Encyclopedia Smithsonian: History and Culture 
Offers descriptions and links to the Smithsonian's digital collections on different subjects like America on the Move and the Smithsonian's Photography Initiative, many of which contain images as well as supplemental resources.

Mapas Project (University of Oregon)
Focuses on  the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

Mountain West Digital Library 
A central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region, with access to over 780,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Arizona and Hawaii

Museum of Inuit Art 
In Toronto, this museum was the only institution devoted solely to art made by the Inuit.  Although it closed for lack of funding in 2016,  the archive of past exhibitions could serve as a starting point for research on this topic, as could helpful brief essays on the art of the Inuit.

Online Archive of California 
Contains more than 170,000 digital images and documents from California's archives, museums, and libraries.

 

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100