Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Africa

Contemporary African Art

Oxford Art Online
In addition to a vast array of images, this encyclopedia includes artist biographies, surveys of art by location , artistic styles, schools and movements, art patronage, materials and techniques

National Museum of African Art
A valuable site from the Smithsonian, with links to a variety of collections of visual materials as well as to Radio Africa.

Universes in Universe  
Access to extensive documentation on art from Africa, the Asia/Pacific region and Latin America. 

Contemporary African Art from the Harmon Foundation 
Lists of works by artist, and of artists by region.  Collection includes films, color slides and black and white prints and negatives.

Africa Remix 
Provides an overview of artistic production in Africa and its diaspora.  Lists of artists and links to their works and to galleries.

Dak'Art 
The Biennial of Contemporary African Art is a platform for contemporary art with cultural roots in Africa.  Great links to galleries and foundations by region.

Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives at the National Museum of African Art 
From the Smithsonian, a photographic archive recording African life from 1947-1973

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Includes 2,000 hours of audio recordings from field expeditions around the world, plus field notes and a huge collection of photographs.

Northwestern University Digital Library Collections
16th-20th century maps of Africa, 19th-20th century collection of East African photos, posters from the collection of African studies, photos from the North American Indian collection, and posters from World War II

Photographs of Africa
A collection of historical photographs from various artists, with an emphasis on Ethopia, hosted by the University of Florida.  Also included are may sound recordings of music, as well as of local animals in situ.

 

Museums and Galleries

National Museum of African Art 
Search the collection, connect to blogs, explore valuable links, and connect to free streaming from Radio Africa.

The Contemporary African Art Collection 
A private collection of several thousand works in a variety of media by contemporary artists living in sub-Saharan African countries, with biographical information and a works list for each.  No permanent exhibition venue, but pieces on public view are listed with links. 

Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas 
A collection from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Images of thousands of works from the collection are searchable.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100