Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Modern/Contemporary

Documentary & Interactive Content

ArtBabble
Hosted by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, wonderful interviews and commentaries from a wide variety of resources.

Artnet News 
Art world news, commentary and event reviews.. Sign up for a daily newsletter which also gives you access to historical entries.

Art Institute of Chicago's YouTube channel 
Videos cover a broad spectrum of subjects and issues.

German Expressionism
An extensive collection of German Expressionism from the MoMa collection including more than 2, 800 prints.

Guggenheim

Interact with others interested in contemporary art through this link provided by the Guggenheim, which includes videos, apps, livestreaming and Instagram.

Los Angeles County Museum of Art

From a broad collection of contemporary art, images are available both from the entire collection as well as from current exhibitions.  There are also soundtracks from recent live music events.

Louisiana Channel
Videos about  recent art, music and literature hosted by the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art in Humlebæk, Denmark.

MoMA's Youtube Channel 
A brilliant array of essays, projects and comprehensive articles.

Museum of Fine Arts Boston
Extensive video clips sorted by collection area, images of collection items with descriptive details.

Art21 
Online component of a PBS series devoted to artists of the 21st century.  Observe artists at work, watch their processes and hear their ideas about their art.  Includes NEWYORKCLOSEUP, a new documentary series on the life and art in the city.

Tate Modern 

A cooperative website of all four locations of the Tate Modern collections in the U.K.  In addition to information about exhibitions and a variety of activities, the Artist A-Z section is especially helpful for biographical information, images of works, videos and interviews with the artists.

UbuWeb
“Outsider” music, art and performance resource with biographical materials and media files

Universes in Universe
An online publication of contemporary exhibits, events and essays pertaining to the visual arts.  International in scope.

Image Collections

CARLI Digital Collections 
A repository for digital content from Illinois institutions, with a strong emphasis on photography.

Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives at the National Museum of African Art 
From the Smithsonian, a photographic archive recording African life from 1947-1973.

Library of Congress - American Memory 
An excellent collection of photographs (including comprehensive studies of selected artists), prints and drawings.

Northwestern University Digital Library Collections 
16th-20th century maps of Africa, 19th-20th century collection of East African photos, posters from the collection of African studies, photos from the North American Indian collection, and posters from World War II.

Photographs of Africa 
A collection of historical photographs from various artists, with an emphasis on Ethopia, hosted by the University of Florida.

RIBApix 
From the Royal Institute of British Architects, a most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture.

The Commons on Flickr 
A public photo archive, comprising an extremely diverse collection from New South Wales.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100