Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Medieval & Renaissance

Art of the Middle Ages

Catholic Encyclopedia (1917 edition)
In Print:  BX 841 .C24

Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture 
A wonderful resource!

International Center of Medieval Art 
Wonderful electronic resources about the visual arts in Europe and the Mediterranean region during the Middle Ages.

ITER
A bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance from 1843 to the present.  Available to Wabash community only.

New Catholic Encyclopedia (2003 edition)
In Print: BX 841 .N44 2003

Renaissance Art

BIVIO (Biblioteca Virtuale On-Online) Collection of etext versions of important works in Italian cultural studies, including full text editions of important art historical documents

Digital Archives of the Polo Museale Fiorentino Access to the collections of Florentine galleries, a photograph archive, the Medici treasures and Euploos projects and archives for hymnals, and other historical artifacts.

Elmer Belt Library of Vincinia This special collection of materials relating to Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance includes facsimile editions of the artist's drawings.  Wonderful links to related webistes.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Timelines of art history and thematic essays spanning thousands of years - from the Metropolitan Museum

ITER A bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance from 1843 to the present.  Available to Wabash community only.

Medici:  Godfathers of the Renaissance An interesting presentation by PBS including historical overviews, short biographies and an image gallery.

Universal Leonardo This resource, created by the University of the Arts, London, makes it possible to explore Leonardo's life through his drawings, paintings and inventions.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100