Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: General Art History

General Resources

Archives of American Art 
A primary source for research on American art and artists.

The Art and Architecture Thesaurus 
Useful resource embracing a vast range of topics.

Artcyclopedia: the Guide to Great Art on the Internet 
Directory of links to Web sites with the focus on fine art painting and sculpture. Also includes a directory museums world

The Art Guide
An international guide to exhibitions, events, and calls for entries of artists, museums and galleries, with a public discussion component.

Artnet News 
Art world news, commentary and event reviews.. Sign up for a daily newsletter which also gives you access to historical entries.

Artists' Signatures 
Full artist profiles are available.  Mandatory free registration.

British Library Digital Catalog of Illuminated Manuscripts 
A comprehensive collection of images, many of which are available to downoad, and a wonderful glossary of terms.

Center for Creative Photography 
Founded by Ansel Adams in 1975 at the University of Arizona, this site houses thousands of images and works, with archives for several major 20th centry photographers.

Dictionary of Art Historians 
Includes bibliographies for works by each historian, as well as for works about her/his life.

Europeana 
An authoritative union catalog of records for paintings, films sculptures, books and archival records.  Free to use images available.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History 
Timelines of art history and thematic essays spanning thousands of years - from the Metropolitan Museum.

Iter
Valuable resource for medieval and Renaissance art, literature and culture.

Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories 
A unique database of Duth 16th and 17th century art collections, hosted by the Frick Art Reference Library, which provides insight into the collections and commerce of the time.

NYARC Arcade 
Search the collections of the New York Art Resource Consortium (Frick, Brooklyn, MOMA).

Oriental Institute 
Research organization and museum located at the University of Chicago, devoted to the study of the ancient NearEast.  This integrated database project allows public access to searchable collections.

smarthistory
A multimedia art history resource with descriptions of various artists and art movements throughout history.

Spanish Artists from the 4th to the 20th Century
A dictionary providing essential bibliographic information on more than 5,000 Spanish artists, including comprehensive lists of alternate forms of art surnames.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100