Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Museums & Galleries

Museums

The Art Institute of Chicago 
Access to more than 54,000 works in the online collection, with basic information about each, as well as research guides on a variety of topic.

Balboa Park Commons 
A collaborative online collection including the holdings of seven San Diego museums, which provides images of some rare and significant materials.

Eastman Museum
Searchable database of extensive holdings of photographs and films, especially interesting for Asia works, and the art of the Americas.

Guggenheim
Devoted to the art of the twentieth century and beyond, this internationally renowned museum houses major contemporary exhibitions, lectures, performances and film screenings.

International Center of Photography
Dedicated to photography and visual culture, the museum is closed, but open for virtual tours of its collection and exhibits.  You may take classes ad share your own work on social media.

Los Angeles County Museum of Art 
Online database of collections and special topics.

Louvre
Images of more than 480,000 works in the Musee du Louvre and Musee National Eugene Delacroix can be searched here.

Metropolitan Museum of Art 
Database may be searched by artist, technique or material, by geographic location, time period, or by museum department.

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
Searchable collections especially interesting for holdings from Asia, and  the art of the Americas.

Museum of Modern Art,New York
Explore the collections, list of "art terms," links to conservation sites and a wealth of images.

National Gallery of Art 
Search collection, artist sites, images of holdings, brief biographies, and recorded aural interviews with artists.

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Explore collections, watch videos on Youtube and read essays on artists and their works.

Tate Modern
Part of a group of 4 Tate galleries in the UK, Tate Modern contains a comprehensive collection of international modern and contemporary art.

 

 

Gallery Websites

Chicago Gallery News 
A listing of Chicago area galleries with upcoming events as well as easily accessible mpas to help find specific galleries.

Indy Arts 
Arts Council of Indianapolis searchable database of artists, organizations and grants.

Indianapolis Downtown Artists and Dealers Association
Calendar of events, first Friday events and maps.

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100