Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Art Criticism

Most Valuable Resources

The Village Voice
Up-to-date news of the arts, openings, reviews and op ed pieces.

The New York Times 
Comprehensive source of news in the arts, reviews, openings and commentary.

Washington Post
Full text access available free from Wabash databases.

Time Out New York 
Full access by paid subscription only, but art section, including openings, gallery listings and criticisms free.

Artforum
Wonderful international journal, featuring contemporary art.  Recent issue available on Flipster.

October 
At the forefront of contemporary art criticism and theory, full-text access is provided by the College.

Art in America 
Comprehensive coverage of all media, calendar, directory, and archive -- also available on Flipster.

Frieze 
International foundation,supporting all contemporary art forms, provides free online access to portions of Frieze magazine, with current and recent listings of shows, performances, exhibition reviews and essays and columns by writers, artists and curators.  Subscription required for full access to the archives.

Flash Art 
Online version of an international journal, with free access to articles, critical reviews, some biographical material, videos and current news.

Parkett Artist List 
An extensive list of contemporary artists with essays and discussions of their works -- free access.  Other publications from artbook@ available by purchase or subscription only.

Brooklyn Rail 
An independent forum for visual arts, culture and politics in New York City and beyond.

  

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100