Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art: Asia

East Asian Art

Arts of China Consortium 
A very valuable series of links arranged by topic, region and genres.  Institute of Fine Arts, New York University.

Collections of Japanese Art Online and In Print  
An annotated list of online and print resources for collections of Japanese art from over a decade ago, but still a valuable resource.  Hosted by Columbia University.

Collections Search Center 
Access to Smithsonian collections with valuable images and descriptions.  Of special interest here is the Artur M. Sackler Gallery Collection.

The Huntington Archives (Buddhist and Asian Art)
A major collection of original slides and photographs documenting art and architecture throughout Asia, from 2500B.C.E. to the present.

Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System 
Online dictionary of Japanese architectural and art historical terminology.

National Palace Museum Database (Taiwan) 
An expansive database of digital images of objects in the Museum's collection, as well as downloadable articles and prints from pertinent publications.

 

South and Southeast Asia

Center for the Art of East Asia
Hosted by the University of Chicago, this site provides access to online exhibits including a collection of ancient cave inscriptions.

South Asian Art
A searchable collection of thousands of images of Indian and Himalayan art from the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts.

Yale University Asian Art Collection
In addition to well-reproduced "highlights" from a vast collection of art works throughout Asia, the entire collection is searchable, downloadable, and 
accompanied by detailed descriptions and provenance.

 

 

Lilly Library is a founding member of PALNI, ALI, and The Oberlin Group


Wabash logo
301 W Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100