Hours
Ask Us
My AccountHistory: HIS - 340 Sports, War and Masculinity
Cite your sources!
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Lilly Library Reserves
Primary Sources
Primary Sources are immediate, first-hand accounts of a topic, from people who had a direct connection with it (a participant or observer). Primary sources do not have to be used in their original form. They may be reproduced electronically, printed or published later and still be considered primary sources.
Examples:
- Speeches, diaries, letters, interviews
- Photographs, video, or audio that capture an event
- Newspaper reports, by reporters who witnessed an event or who quote people who did
- Texts of laws and other original documents
- Artwork, poetry
- HeinOnline Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full content of the Congressional Record since 1873, 3000 law journals, U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries (including significant works on Women and the Law and Religion and the Law), all United States Treaties, and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNews, law cases and reviews, and company financial information.
- GPO (Government Publications) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source for government publications on the executive and legislative branches, including Congressional Bills and Hearings
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 This link opens in a new windowOver 959 early American historical newspapers, with strong coverage in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Indiana papers include the Indiana State Journal (1846-1899) and American Nonconformist (1892-1896), and Brookville Enquirer (1819-1820).
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowCurrent newspaper plus historical content from 1851-present.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIncludes thousands of American periodicals from 1691 to 1877.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
PROTIP: narrow your search results to those that have links to digital content by adding " has_links:1" to your search. - Digital Public Library of AmericaProvides access to more than 15,000,000 items from libraries, archives, and museums across the country.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet Archiveprovides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, software applications/games, music, movies/videos, moving images, and millions of public-domain books.
Select Archives - Military
- Pre-WWII Field Manuals (1920-1940)Archival copies of field manuals in PDF format.
- U. S. Air Force Historical Research AgencyPhotographs documenting the history of U.S. military aviation, including early Wright Brothers' machines and WWII images. Also provides organizational history fact sheets for divisions, wings, squadrons, etc., and historical studies of various recent operations.
- The Nuclear Vault: Resources from the Nuclear Documentation ProjectDe-classified documents, photos, info, related reading lists, and links related to nuclear weapons, nuclear weapon policies, nuclear crises, and nuclear proliferation (in the U.S. and around the world) from the 1940s through the present. (George Washington Univ.)
Select Archives - Sports
- The LA 84 Foundation Digital Library CollectionIncludes articles, books, and other documents covering all aspects of sport, with a particular emphasis on Olympic information. The LA 84 Foundation operates the largest sports research library in North America
- Sports Illustrated VaultContains a full historical run of the magazine all the way back to its first issue in August 1954. The Vault includes a search engine, allowing you to search by topic, person, team, etc.
- The Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories (Sports)List of oral history collections across the United States that deal with sports. Collections may or may not be available online.
- Veterans Remember: Oral History ProjectPublic interest in the stories and recollections of our nation's veterans is long-standing and enduring. Veterans Remember is notable for its in-depth interviews that examine both the narrators' early years and military experiences.
- Oral histories of sport (British Library)Oral history interviews with sportsmen and women include tennis players, swimmers, and prominent track, field and road athletes.
- The Civil Rights History Project: Survey of Collections and Repositories (Sports)List of oral history collections across the United States that deal with sports. Collections may or may not be available online.
Secondary Sources
Secondary Sources are one step removed from primary sources, though they often quote or otherwise use primary sources. They can cover the same topic, but add a layer of interpretation and analysis.
Examples:
- Most books about a topic
- Scholarly articles about a topic
- Documentaries (thought these often include photos or video portions that can be considered primary sources).
- Law Reviews
- Dissertations
- Academic Search This link opens in a new windowBroad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. Also includes videos from the Associated Press. A great starting point for any topic!
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new windowFull text of reference books, magazines, journals, and primary source documents in U.S. and world history.
- JSTOR Journal Archives and eBooks This link opens in a new windowFull-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals and periodicals providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowOver 400 scholarly journals plus indexing for an additional 1,000 political science journals.
- Journal List (A-Z)Search for specialized journals pertaining to your topic.
Sample Journals
301 W. Wabash Avenue
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
(765) 361-6100